N.S. announces comfort centre locations after extensive damage from Fiona

As Maritimers assess the damage left behind from post-tropical storm Fiona, a number of comfort centres have been made available for residents to get food and water, recharge devices and receive up-to-date information.

Here is a list of the comfort centre locations announced so far.



  • Beaver Bank Kinsac Community Centre located at 1583 Beaver Bank Road in Beaver Bank

  • Royal Canadian Legion Branch #58 located at 23566 Nova Scotia Trunk 7 in Sheet Harbour

  • Prospect Road Community Centre located at 2141 Prospect Road in Hatchet Lake

  • Cole Harbour Place located at 51 Forest Hill Parkway in Cole Harbour

  • Lebrun Recreation Centre located at 36 Holland Avenue in Bedford  

Kings County

  • Canning Multiplex located at 977 Jordan Rd. in Canning 

  • Greenwich Fire Hall located at 9798 Highway 1 in Greenwich      

  • Port Williams Community Centre located at 1045 Highway 358 in Port Williams  

Cape Breton

  • Big Pond Fire Hall located at 7193 East Bay Highway in Big Pond

  • Boisdale Fire Hall located at 3810 Grand Narrows Highway in Boisdale    

  • Gabarus Fire Department located at 8791 Gabarus Highway in Gabarus  

  • Georges River Fire Hall located at 1208 George’s River Rd. in North Sydney             

  • Howie Centre Fire Department located at 47 Tometary Dr. in Howie Centre          

  • Louisbourg Fire Hall located at 7485 Main St. in Louisbourg

  • New Waterford Fire Hall located at 3336 Walsh Ave. in New Waterford

  • North Sydney Fire Hall located at 14 Pierce St. in North Sydney

  • Reserve Mines Fire Department located at 195 Main Street in Reserve Mines

  • Sydney City Hall located at 320 Esplanade in Sydney

  • Membertou Convention Centre located at 50 Milliard St. in Membertou

Colchester County

  • Bass River Fire Hall located at 5554 Highway 2 in Bass River         

  • Bible Hill Community Hall located at 69 Pictou Rd. in Bible Hill     

  • Brookfield Fire Station located at 110 Highway 289 in Brookfield              

  • Cobequid Fire Brigade located at 3830 Highway 236 in Lower Truro          

  • Onslow Belmont Fire Hall located at 12355 highway 2 in Lower Onslow  

  • Salmon River Fire Hall located at 1102 Salmon River Rd. in Salmon River 

  • Stewiacke Community Centre located at 111 Highway 2 in Stewiacke      

  • Tatamagouche Fire Hall Colchester located at 202 Main Street in Tatamagouche

  • Truro Fire Hall located at 165 Victoria Street in Truro      


  • St. Joseph’s Lakeside Community Centre located at 2752 Ohio East Rd.

Pictou County

  • Eureka Fire Department Pictou located at 5222 Trafalgar Road in Eureka

  • Linacy  Fire Department located at 6735 Highway 4 in Linacy       

  • New Horizons Club located at 14 Kempt St. in Pictou       

  • Pictou Fire Hall located at 166 Church St. in Pictou

  • Plymouth Fire Hall located at 4667 East River East Side Road in Plymouth              

  • Stellarton Fire Hall located at 10 Jubilee Ave. in Stellarton             

  • Summer Street Industries located at 72 Park Street in New Glasgow       

  • Town of Westville Municipal Building located at 2042 Queen St. in Westville    

More comfort centres are expected to be added throughout the Maritimes once travel is deemed safe. 

This is a developing story and will be updated.   

Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button