From MS Dhoni to Sam Curran: List of most expensive players bought in each IPL auction from 2008 to 2023

IPL auctions setting up new records every year have become quite a normal sight. Ahead of each IPL edition, record-breaking buys are made, and same was seen during the IPL auction 2023. But this time, it turned out to be historic when England all-rounder Sam Curran broke all previous records and became the most expensive buy of all IPL editions. 

Sam was bought by the Punjab Kings (PBKS) for a massive amount of INR 18.50 crore. The tag of the most expensive player previously belonged to the South African all-rounder Chris Morris, who was roped in by the Rajasthan Royals for INR 16.6 crore in 2020.

Other than Curran, Australian all-rounder Cameron Green was bought by Mumbai Indians for an amount of INR 17.50 crore, making him the second most expensive player in the IPL auction history.

Star all-rounder Ben Stokes also bagged INR 16.25 crore to become a part of the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) camp. Harry Brook, the young England batter, surpassed the ten crore mark and was bought by Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) for INR 13.25 crore.

In the inaugural IPL edition, CSK skipper MS Dhoni was signed at a whopping price of INR 9.5 crore. A year later, England’s Andrew Flintoff and Kevin Pietersen surpassed Dhoni after being bought for a hefty amount of INR 9.8 crore by CSK and Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) respectively.

Let’s have a look at the most expensive buy at each IPL auction:

  • ₹9.5 crore: MS Dhoni (Chennai Super Kings) – 2008
  •  ₹9.8 crore: Andrew Flintoff (Chennai Super Kings), Kevin Pietersen (Royal Challengers Bangalore) – 2009
  • ₹4.8 crore: Shane Bond (Kolkata Knight Riders), Kieron Pollard (Mumbai Indians) – 2010
  • ₹14.9 crore: Gautam Gambhir (Kolkata Knight Riders) – 2011
  • ₹12.8 crore: Ravindra Jadeja (Chennai Super Kings) – 2012
  • ₹6.3 crore: Glenn Maxwell (Mumbai Indians) – 2013
  • ₹14 crore: Yuvraj Singh (Royal Challengers Bangalore) – 2014
  • ₹16 crore: Yuvraj Singh (Delhi Capitals) – 2015
  • ₹9.5 crore: Shane Watson (Royal Challengers Bangalore) – 2016
  • ₹14.5 crore: Ben Stokes (Rising Pune Supergiants) – 2017
  • ₹12.5 crore: Ben Stokes (Rajasthan Royals) – 2018
  • ₹8.4 crore: Jaydev Unadkat (Rajasthan Royals), Varun Chakravarthy (Kings XI Punjab) – 2019
  • ₹15.5 crore: Pat Cummins (Kolkata Knight Riders) – 2020
  • ₹16.6 crore: Chris Morris (Rajasthan Royals) – 2021
  • ₹15.25 crore: Ishan Kishan (Mumbai Indians) – 2022
  • ₹18.50 crore: Sam Curran (Punjab Kings) – 2023

Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button