Listen to Thundercat’s Ryuichi Sakamoto Cover From New Tribute Album To the Moon and Back

A new Ryuichi Sakamoto tribute album called To the Moon and Back is set to drop December 2 via Milan Records, featuring a reworked version of his song “Thousand Knives” by Thundercat. The album also includes new versions of Sakamoto’s songs from Devonté Hynes, the Cinematic Orchestra, Alva Noto, David Sylvian, and more. Check out the full tracklist and Thundercat’s “Thousand Knives” below.

Sakamoto released his debut solo studio album, Thousand Knives, in October 1978. A version of the song also appeared on Yellow Magic Orchestra’s 1981 album BGM.

Last month, Sakamoto shared new music that he made for the new Netflix anime series Exception. His album, Exception (Soundtrack From the Netflix Anime Series), arrives on Friday, October 14, via Milan Records.

Read about Sakamoto’s score for the 1983 film Merry Christmas, Mr. Lawrence in Pitchfork’s “The 50 Best Movie Scores of All Time.”


This content can also be viewed on the site it originates from.

A Tribute to Ryuichi Sakamoto – To the Moon and Back:

01 Walker – Lim Giong – Follow The Steps Remodel
02 Grains (Sweet Paulownia Wood) – David Sylvian Remodel
03 Thousand Knives – Thundercat Remodel
04 Merry Christmas Mr. Lawrence – Electric Youth Remodel
05 Thatness and Thereness – Cornelius Remodel
06 World Citizen I Won’t Be Disappointed – Hildur Guðnadóttir Remodel
07 The Sheltering Sky – Alva Noto Remodel
08 Amore – Fennesz Remodel
09 Choral No. 1 – Devonté Hynes Remodel (featuring Emily Schubert)
10 DNA – The Cinematic Orchestra Remodel
11 With Snow and Moonlight – snow, silence, partially sunny – Yoshihide Otomo Remodel
12 Forbidden Colors – Gabrial Wek Remodel
13 The Revenant Main Theme – Remodel

Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button